emarkthomas

Trying to live love well through the power of the Everlasting.

“All right, then, I’ll go to hell.”

Absolutely brilliant post here by Rachel Held Evans.

Definitely worth reading! She uses an excerpt from Mark Twain’s Adventures of Huckleberry Finn in which Huck’s mind, filled with the biblical teachings of the day, had him frightened of going to hell for helping the slave Jim escape. But as he thinks things over, his conscience gets the better of him and he determines to go right ahead and help Jim anyway, uttering the phrase, “All right, then, I’ll go to hell.”

Evans point, I think, is that sometimes in order to authentically follow the Holy Spirit and be true to whom he’s created you to be – in order to live and love well as called – we have to act in a way that may seem like a betrayal of what’s currently being taught and held as biblical.

My absolute favorite part of her post:

The Bible has been “clear” before, after all—in support of a flat and stationary earth, in support of wiping out infidels, in support of  manifest destiny, in support of Indian removal, in support of anti-Semitism, in support of slavery, in support of “separate but equal,” in support of constitutional amendments banning interracial marriage. 

In hindsight, it all seems so foolish, such an obvious abuse of Scripture.

…But at the time? 

 

Ah, my chest seized up and tears nearly sprang to my eyes! I think she hit the nail right on the head there – I believe, I truly and firmly believe, that the living out of the gospel and the advancing of the Kingdom comes from living and loving well with each other, and that doing so is far more important than just about anything else.

It reminded me of two posts:

1) Richard Beck’s Orthodox Alexithymia 

2) My own post Value People

I guess I just really can’t stress enough how important I think it is to, well, value people. It’s a theme that’s been inescapable to me these past few months.

Hmm… a thought… I’ll keep you posted. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

