emarkthomas

Trying to live love well through the power of the Everlasting.

It Gets Better.

I was reminded today about my high school experience, and just how different I am from the young man I was then. What I know, what I believe, how I see the world and respond to things. So different. I thought about the It Gets Better campaign and ruminated on what kind of video I would send myself at 17 if I could. I’d tell myself that it’s only a season, and that it does get better. Don’t get discouraged, work hard with what and where you are, and that sooner or later seasons will change. I’d remind myself that my perspective was too small to accurately judge the value of what was happening.

Then I realized that that same advice can apply to me here, today.

So I’m going to pretend that I got a video from a 37 year old Ethan. He’s telling me not to lose heart, and to hold on even now, because my perspective is far too small to accurately gauge what’s happening. He’s telling me to work hard and love well. He’s telling me that it does get better.

Thank God. I was beginning to lose hope.

3 responses to “It Gets Better.

  1. Kerry Miller-Whalen April 25, 2012 at 6:37 am

    Thanks, 37 y.o. Ethan! Wise words!!! 🙂

    • emarkthomas April 26, 2012 at 3:59 am

      Yeah… I’m wondering what else 37 y.o. Ethan might know! Though I suppose I’ll have to wait 10 years to find out. Ah well.

      Thanks for always being there, Kerry. You make my heart smile. 🙂

  2. Joyce April 28, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    It will get better. Wrap yourself around others who want the best for you. Tearing down walls hurts, stinks..but it opens up new freedom!
    I have to wonderful children who have been down many tough roads, but through their lessons and pain , they have discover who they truly are , and you will too!
    My advice to them always is to be the change you want to see in the world.
    Much love,
    Joyce

Leave a Reply

