emarkthomas

Trying to live love well through the power of the Everlasting.

Time for a reminder…

Hey there. Long story short: I read a wonderful blog post the other day by Andrew Marin of The Marin Foundation that got me thinking, and me thinking usually means an intellectual hurricane followed by a few days of clean-up. In that frame of mind, I wrote a really long post, but once I reflected on it a bit more, I realized that the vast majority of what I’d written was just too premature to make public. It needs time to stew in the bubbling cauldron of my mind. There was a great start relating to forgiveness and how that practically plays out when the past catches up to us. I think there was some good stuff in there, but as I said before, it needs time.

Anyway, the end result of the crazy thought patterns I raced through in my writing was this: I felt it was important to remind people just whose ideas they’re ingesting here. Give full disclosure, just so that we’re clear that I’m not claiming to be a great mind or someone who should be listened to. I think that the Spirit of the Living God can certainly use some of what I write to help people that read it, but it’s not me, it’s Papa at work again. So, to that end, I’m re-posting the first thing I ever wrote here, entitled “So It Begins.”

 

My name is Ethan Mark Thomas. That name personifies evil and deceit for some while bringing feelings of utmost love and respect for others, along with a wide variety of everything in between for the rest who know me or have known me.

It is true, I have been a con artist. I have been a thief. I have a been a lying, greedy reprobate viewing human beings as means to an end.

It is true, I have been a humanitarian. I have been a role model. I have been a loving, passionate, genuine bringer of peace, comfort and harmony to many.

I am both. I have been both. I hope to be far more of the latter than the former in the future. But either way, full disclosure. I have been many things, I have done much, and been many places. The vast majority of my past has been using considerable talents for twisted versions of good that only benefit myself and a short-term perspective. So, yeah, you can say that I’ve used my powers for evil. Because I did, and even worse: I did so often while under the name of my master: the Most High, the Everlasting, Jesus the Christ.

That was my past. Remnants of that life still ripple through my daily life, but through the prayers of my community of believers and help given by the Spirit of Jesus Christ, the hold that those behaviors had on me grows less influential every passing day. And now, now I’m something new.

I’m an agent of the Most High, a chosen vessel of the renewal of the Kingdom of God.

That’s what this blog is about – the life I have left to live, and how I will live it and process it as an agent of the Kingdom, dedicated to infusing the will of the Father into life in every area that I touch.

This blog is a place for me to think things out, to process things. I know that eventually people may stumble across this, so that’s why this post is even being written. To let you know who I am, and to arm you with the knowledge that I am not claiming to be someone that should be listened to.

James talks about the tongue being a restless evil, full of deadly poison. I think very few people can fully appreciate that as much as I can. So if you’re going to go ahead a read this, know that what I write here is as a man who was exceptionally gifted as using my tongue to deceive and manipulate many people, to con them and make them feel safe and secure to use them in some way, before eventually ripping their hearts out by vanishing and letting them fall back to reality. Know that right now, so that you can’t be astonished or surprised if you find it out later.

To bring some closure to this lurid past that I’ve spoken of, let me say this: I have been haunted by my actions. They were wicked. I am grateful for the power of the blood of Jesus Christ, who paid the terribly high price for my duplicity and betrayals. Through him, I am reconciled and redeemed. I now walk a path in which the Spirit of the Living God transforms me from the inside out, to the glory of the Father. It’s not about me, even a little bit. And that, quite frankly, is refreshing.

Well, that’s about it for now.

One response to “Time for a reminder…

  1. Scott Hall December 21, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    Great post. Thank you for sharing. It’s tough to face our past sometimes, for sure, and takes a lot of courage to share it on the Internet.

Leave a Reply

