emarkthomas

Trying to live love well through the power of the Everlasting.

Value people.

It’s been quite some time since I found myself thinking that it’s probably more in line with the heart of the Father to value people over all else. By that I mean I like the idea of cutting through discussion, conflict, scandal, etc. to just value and love people over who or what they may bring to the table.

Someone may come to me with something that I don’t understand, something that makes me extremely uncomfortable. But if I move to value that person above my feeble understanding of “Biblical morality” and rules, then I show up to love. To listen. To walk through life together. I don’t have to understand. I just have to love.

Today I came across this concept in a blog and I loved how the author, Scot Miller, phrased it. He said this:

“Which reminds me that I hope I am prejudiced to value human beings over moral or theological principles.

When Jesus was caught breaking the Law by gathering grain on the sabbath, Jesus said to his accusers, “The sabbath was made for humankind, not humankind for the sabbath” (Mark 2:27).

In a similar way, I suspect that the Bible and moral principles are made for human beings, and not the other way around.”

 

Oh, I love that.

The sabbath was made for humanity, not humanity for the sabbath.

Value people over your ideas of righteousness?

Help me to do just that, Papa.

3 responses to “Value people.

  1. Kerry Miller-Whalen April 4, 2012 at 5:41 am

    Simple and profound, Ethan! Wouldn’t it change everything if we could all just get a hold of it??

  2. Joyce April 7, 2012 at 3:10 pm

    Loving people unconditionally is not always easy , and i beleive only through God’s power and grace, can we do that.
    I value all people and I want to love without condtions. Religon may not always allow us to do that..but God does!
    It has not been an easy road, I made many mistakes, been in the wilderness for awhile, but each time i come out I am better and stronger for others, as well as myself.

    Smile Ethan, you are loved!

  3. Pingback: “All right, then, I’ll go to hell.” « emarkthomas

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

